Robert H. Wright Award

  • Robert H. Wright Award Nomination Form
    This PDF is a fillable form. Adobe Acrobat Reader version 11.0.4 allows users to save data entered into fillable form PDFs as a new document. This allows you to enter data at different times and/or share the document with others for them to enter/edit data.

  • Past Award Recipients
Description and Eligibility

The Robert H. Wright Alumni Leadership Award is the most prestigious award presented by the East Carolina Alumni Association to undergraduate seniors during annual spring commencement exercises. The award recognizes academic achievement, service (both to the university and the community), and leadership qualities (both potential and exhibited). Nominees should be recognized as those who will make an impact in their professions and communities. In addition to other accomplishments, nominees should have an overall academic average of at least 3.5 through the first semester of the graduation year. Students with extraordinary achievements whose grade point averages are slightly less than 3.5 may be nominated.

Only current ECU faculty and staff may nominate a student. All nominations must be accompanied by at least one letter of recommendation from the academic unit and a current transcript. Those who have graduated with a bachelor's degree in the summer or fall of the preceding year will also be considered.

Recipients will receive the following:
  • An alumni association life membership ($350 value)
  • Recognition and medallion at commencement
  • Special mention in the commencement program
  • Recognition at the Senior Celebration Dinner. Recipients attend for free and have the opportunity to invite two guests at no cost. 
  • A press release sent to local media and their hometown newspaper(s). 
  To nominate an undergraduate senior, please:
  • Complete and sign the nomination form.
  • Submit one letter of recommendation from the student’s academic unit.
  • Include a current copy of the student’s transcript.
Please submit all nomination materials at the same time to ensure that the nomination is complete and will be reviewed.
Complete nominations are due to the Alumni Association by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 30, 2015. Please do not fax nominations.

If you have any questions about the nomination procedure, please contact the Alumni Center at 252-328-4723 or ecualumni@ecu.edu.

Past Award Recipients
Rebecca F. Little
Ernest L. Conner
Marie K. Ajouc
Carlos Adrian Ochoa
Lesli Tyler Peebles
Marvelle Elizabeth Sullivan
Regina R. Hardee
Nancy Croft Baker
Brian Albright
Seth Weaver II
Rayna Gordon
Amanda Thomas Coley
Lisa Carolyn Cox
Jeffrey D. Langrehr 
Elizabeth Glasgow
Stephen Greer, Jr.
Jon Rogers 
Wallace Wayne Bradsher, Jr.
Lisa Gay Maness
Robert William Powell
Rebecca Fleenor
Denisha Harris
Matthew Higgins
Joseph Kaloko
James Earl Allen
Susan Elizabeth Benson
Drew Edwards Davis
Daphne Melvina Harrington
Gail T. Kennedy
Kevin Michael Lamm
Leanne Elizabeth Smith
1989  Chandra Benita Floyd
Donna Lynn Zekonis
William Clayborn Deanhardt
Matthew Simon Cook
Meredith Anne Hardison
Zachary Joel Harrison
Kyle Bradley Nichols
Brittany Kathryn Wilkerson
1990  Kathy Johnson-Rogers
Kelly Jones MacKay
Anthony Amos
Robin Moore
Matthew Singletary
Anita Unnithan
1991  Robert L. Beeman, Jr.
Sally E. Moseley
Carolina M. Orth
Matthew Stephenson Herrmann
Paulette Melinda McFadden
Melonie Nell Norman
Brandy Lorraine Shaw
Marc D. Cook
Michelle Pearson Raper
Vladim Bobrovnikov
Jonathan Joseph Edwards
Julie Diane Goldfarb
Sarah Elizabeth Jane Parker Womack
Christopher Kien Vo
Gillian K. Ashley
Sandra Singh Bass
Craig S. Spitz 
Joel Funmilola Banjo-Johnson
Diana Andreea Gliga
Stefanie Marie Wethington
Cesar H. Colon
Amanda A. Hines
Angela B. Reid
Carol J. Shields
Daniel Landon Allen
Brooke Jacinda Barton
Kyle Shane Bowen
Jason Lewis Morton
Nina Fay Rose
Jason Michael Johnson
John Christopher Leighton
William Thomas Younger III
Brittany Leigh Carr
Deepak Ravindranathan
Parteek Singla
Anna Elizabeth Smith
1996 Charity Sue Adams
Miwa Susan Anderson
Laurie Heather Johnson
Richard O'Neal Lynch
Chandra Lenelle Speight
Benjamin Joel Aydelette
Megan Christine Campbell
Courtney Blake Evans
Brooke Tierra Leigh
Justin Mark Salisbury
Rachelle DeFilippis Burruss
Lisa Ann Frederick
Rebecca Perry Williams
Leslie Ann Williamson
2013 Arun Ajmera
Sarah Morgan Hunter
Danielle Nicole Martin
Mukund Mohan Patel
Alyssa Diane Robinson
Patricia Carol Brame
Meredith Megan Manoly
Michael William Walker
2014 Ben Currie McKinzie Jr.
Megan Rachel Mehaffey
Hannah Marie Potter
Juliann Marie Stalls
Nicholas Reid Thompson
Jennifer Marie Johnston
Phillip Michael Proctor
Melissa Sue Radabaugh

East Carolina Alumni Association
Taylor-Slaughter Alumni Center 901 East Fifth Street East Carolina University Greenville, NC 27858-4353
252-ECU-GRAD (328-4723)  800-ECU-GRAD Privacy Policy  ecualumni@ecu.edu